• This topic has 8 voices and 17 replies.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 19 total)
  • Author
    1adam12

this section or not

1adam12

I was originally asked to do this section by Brett to stir things up in the Bmx community……My question is should free speech be removed from this site? Is it in the best interest of NJBMX if this section is removed? I promise not to argue or degrade anyones opinion just wondering what you all think?????

CrazyCraig

Adam,

I do not think this section should be removed, but I wish there was a way that when a new topic is posted, it does not show up on the front page of the site in the upper right hand corner.

I have been jumping and riding bikes since I was 5 years old. That is 33 years. So I have seen it all (well, almost). I am totally cool with most of the conversations going on here, even when it’s on (and over) the edge a little.

But…I am also a Dad, and the dad part thinks would I want my kids reading some of this stuff. Put yourself in my shoes.

So free speech is cool, and I think we all need to unwind and have a place to just BS, but don’t neccessarily need to put it out there where everyone sees it, but only because this site could really become THE place for EVERYONE to come and learn about BMX in Jersey and maybe beyond. Unfortunately, a little PC is needed if you want to try and keep the appeal universal to everyone in the best interests of the sport.

Keep the section: Yes.
    Figure out a way to limit access: Yes
    Kill free speech: No – but, we have to allow Brett, and only Brett, the right to delete a post no matter how pissed we might get, especially if its not in the BS section but somewhere that has full public access. I don’t want to make Brett the policeman, but there has to be some level of civility, and thats how you control it.

bmiddaugh

zoinks.
    Ok, a little of what is happening here involves 3 people that used to be friends. One of which is a member but is good enough to let stuff ride.