Homepage Forums Rodney’s Repair Center How To’s On Repairs and Maintenance Need help with a 5yr old’s new bike

• This topic has 7 voices and 9 replies.
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    CrazyCraig

I hope all you dads and/or Rodney can give me some tips on a good set up for my son. I have no experience with the Mini / Junior bikes.

He is 5 years old (b-day was January). He is 4 feet tall and 52 pounds. He is one of the tallest, if not the tallest, kids in his pre-school. He is always in the 96-99% box on the doctor’s chart.

I recently got a Diamond Back Junior for him from Rich Farside. It’s a tad big for him, but he rode on it pretty well last night for the first time. Since we just got him off training wheels, I am not expecting big things this year. Rich said he’d probably would grow out of a mini before his next birthday based on how tall he is and the Junior should work now with some slight modifications.

It currently has the Junior bars with no cross bar. I’m sure the first time I bring it to the track someone can tell me if he would be better off with the shorter mini stem and lower mini bars. I pulled the bars back so he could reach them comfortably, but it looks funny.

My other concern is the gear and crank size. It currently has a 42-16 with 165mm cranks. What size cranks do most kids this age/size ride? They seemed a little long for him, even though he was getting them around okay. What about the gear? Any thoughts on that as well?

Last question: Brake levers. Do they make a smaller lever for smaller hands? I hope so, cause he can barely grab the one thats on there. It made for some tense moments last night.

Thanks in advance for the help!!

paulc

Craig,