Homepage Forums NJ BMX Racing Racing Veterans tennis elbow and racing advise

• This topic has 6 voices and 38 replies.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 40 total)
  • Author
    mroze1

Looking for some advise from the “veterans”.

I came out of racing retirement last year to race 35-39 cruiser, just a few races at the end of the season. I had a great time getting my butt kicked and decided to race this year. So I’m just beginning to build a new bike….hanging up the classic 1987 Robinson for good.

Anyway, all the yanking up on the bars of the old school bike seemed to contribute to a case of I’m guessing tennis elbow, definately some sort of tendonitis. It’s been bothering me since the old school race at HCBMX last fall.

So now I’m wondering ..should I build the new bike, or race? Or am I just asking for trouble. I am turning the big 4-0 this year, that doesn’t help. I’m wondering if the new bike will help, it’s almost impossible for me to lift the front of that old Robinson.

Any veterans out there experience this? What have you done to eliminate it or prevent it from reoccurring?

Thanks for your input,
    Ed

4130forlife

DO “NOT ” USE THOSE WHEELS. ANYMORE/ PEASE

s4lnj

ice the elbow– 10 min on and 20 off– when it is really sore–

they also sell “tennnis elbow bands” that fasten to your forearm about an inch or so below the elbow. this will slightly change the way your muscle pulls at the point where it meets the elbow.

ibuprofrin (sp?) is an anti inflamitory which willl help reduce pain and swelling. although i wouldn’t recomend it now, when i ran track in college, i had terrible shin splints, and i was on a 10 a day ibuprofrin diet to help keep swollen scar tissue on the shins to a minimum in order to keep training and competeing. but having some handy on race day wouldn’t be a bad idea.